All content © Bob MuIIins

Jonny Walker Wins Red Bull Megawatt

KTM Enduro Factory Racing’s Jonny Walker has earned a third successive Red Bull 111 Megawatt victory, taking the win at this year’s event ahead of Mario Roman and Graham Jarvis. Fastest qualifier for the 2017 running of the Polish mega-event, Walker set the pace for much of the main race before rear mousse issues hampered his performance during the third and final lap.

Seeing his lead reduced to just a handful of seconds, Walker nevertheless managed to remain out front and successfully battle his way across a brutal rock garden just meters from the finish. In doing so he earned a hard-fought Red Bull 111 Megawatt victory – the third of his career to date.

Jonny’s next event will be Red Bull Sea to Sky in Turkey on 28-30 October.

Jonny Walker: “Getting a third Red Bull Megawatt win feels amazing, it certainly helps put the disappointment of Romaniacs and Erzberg behind me. It was a lot closer at the finish than I wanted, but a win is a win so I’m really pleased I was standing on top of the podium. Generally, things went really well – I lead during the first two laps and felt really comfortable. I had an issue with my rear mousse on the final lap, so I couldn't push like I wanted to but half way around the final lap I had more than a one-minute lead. I knew I was going to get caught and I got a little nervous right before the finish, but things worked out good in the end. Thankfully I managed to get through the final rock section and across the finish line ahead of Mario. Megawatt’s been good to me in recent years so to get a third win here is awesome.”

Paul Bolton; "Learnt a lot in my first Redbull Megawatt race. I love that the Hard Enduro series has such unique races! Keeps everyone on their toes and nobody in a comfort zone. Makes it super exciting! 6th place for me and I'm keen to be back next year! Awesome weekend. Thanks to everyone who helped to get me there. Eurotek Ktm Bolts Riding Days Dirt Bike Spec MEFO-Sport GmbH USWE CI Sport POD Active @alpinestars @k&nsurfacing @roytrevor @dataspace @haibikeuk

Results – Red Bull 111 Megawatt
1. Jonny Walker (KTM) 2:22:21.66 2. Mario Roman (Sherco) 2:22:32.51 3. Graham Jarvis (Husqvarna) 2:23:59.59 4. Alfredo Gomez (KTM) 2:24:35.46 5. Manni Lettenbichler (KTM) 2:24:59.00 6. Paul Bolton (KTM) 2:28:16.75