All content Bob MuIIins

2017 Simon Rees Memorial Hare 'n Hounds

Saturday saw the final event in the Rhayader Motor Cycle Clubs busy year with the 15th running of the Simon Rees Memporial Hare n Hounds, incorporated with the Trevor Evans Memorial Cup for sidecars.

A packed entry lined up with experts off first however Adam James had trouble starting and was last away however he was soon scything through the experts to lead at the end of the first lap but with the muddy conditions Adam lost the lead to Henry Yardley after misjudging one of the boggy sections but within two laps Adam was back in front, soon after though Yardley hit bike problems causing him to fall back to 5th. James never looked back, holding off Derek Bawn by just over a minute and Roger Holland steadily moved through the field to take third at the line.

In the clubman class Aaron Martin on just his second outing of the year held off a strong field with Katie Walker coming in runner up ahead of Lyndon Jones, once again William Jones was the man to beat in the Over 40s finishing a lap ahead of Kevin Wallace while Martin P Jones had two laps in hand over Colin Griffiths in the Over 50 class.

A huge sportsman entry saw Matthew Harries win ahead of Trystan Hopkins both on 13 laps with Danny McPhee finishing third and best local giving him the Simon Rees Trophy just ahead of Kris Price.

As usual the sidecars proved entertaining with David Williams and Luke Peters soon in the lead but were chased hard by Aled Evans and Simon Morgan but just as the pair challenged for the lead the bike was engulfed in a plume of steam with a burst water hose putting them out of the event, their place was taken by Jonathan Williams and Neil James who gradually caught the Williams/Peters pairing and passed then with a lap to go only for the front tyre to leave the rim bringing them to an untimely halt in the mud leaving David and Luke the winners.

In the clubman sidecars Steve Pryce and Aled Jones steadily reeled the laps off to finish two laps clear of Marcus Morgan and Callum Gibbons while fourth place was good enough for Ashley Bonwick Smith and Shane Symons to win the Trevor Evans cup for the best local clubman sidecar.

Simon Rees Memorial Cup (Best Local Sportsman) Danny Mcphee

Trevor Evans Memorial Cup (Best Local Clubman Sidecar crew) Shane Symons/Ashley Bonwick