All content Bob MuIIins

British Enduro Championship
Rounds 4&5 - Lauder

Danny doubles Dirtbike Evolution debut!

Dirtbike Evolution hosted their debut ACU British Enduro Championship round at the Thirlestane track near Lauder this weekend. The weather was perfect. There were 2 tests in the 15 lap and they both included cooling river crossings. 

Danny McCanney (GasGas E3) extended his overall lead of the BEC with a win on the first day. Joe Wootton (hqv) was in good form and he had built up a 10 second lead by the 6th test where he dropped 50 seconds in troubled waters and Danny took the win. Tom Sagar (Beta) was 2nd and Jack Edmondson (Sherco best E2) 3rd. jet lagged Cornishman Josh Gotts (TM) was 4th, Alex Snow (Honda best E1/4) 5th, Dan Mundell (Sherco best E1/2) 6th, Joe Wootton recovered to finish 7th (hqv), Jay Thomas 8th (Yamaha), Fraser Flockhart (Yamaha) 9th and Jed Etchells (Sherco) 10th. Charlie Evans crashed heavily on his 5th test but he rode through the pain to finish. 

In his return to competition Paul Edmondson (Beta) won the Expert class with wheelies for the fans. Luke Flack was runner up and Max Ditchfield was 3rd only 1 second down on Luke, while Aaron Gordon, Joel Gowan & Harry Hillier-Rees finished a very respectable 4th, 5th & 6th in this hotly contested class. Ben Murphy was the early leader until he twisted his ankle and retired. The top 3 Clubmen were Harry Houghton, Lewis Ranger and Luke Thomas. Over 40s 1st Andrew Reeves, 2nd Russell Millward, 3rd Andrew Edwards. Over 50s 1st Gary McCoy, 2nd Paul Davies, 3rd Jason Rees. Ladies 1st Nieve Holmes, 2nd Rosie Rowett. 

On Day 2 Joe Wootton put Day 1 behind himself and he set the fastest time on the first test ahead of Tom Sagar and Danny McCanney. Richard Tucker got stuck on the last test of Day 1 but he was Teflon on Day 2 setting the fastest Expert time on the first test with an 8th overall. Tom Sagar upped his game and he took the second test. Danny McCanney was runner up and Joe Wootton was 3rd. At the end of the first lap Tom Sagar led from Joe Wootton, Danny McCanney, Jack Edmondson, Dan Mundell, Jay Thomas, Josh Gotts, Alex Snow, Fraser Flockhart and Andrew Bisset 

Tom Sagar was quickest on test 3 but Danny McCanney responded on test 4 pulling back 4 seconds off Tom and 3rd fastest rider Joe Wootton. Going into lap 3 Danny was the overall leader from Tom Sagar by less the 2 10th of a second. On test 5 less than 2 seconds separated Sagar, Wootton and McCanney. The top 3 riders were so close they could have climbed onto one bike and saved petrol but on test 6 the impasse was broken when Sagar dropped 9 seconds. 

After the scheduled 5 laps Danny McCanney's consistency was rewarded with a 15 second lead over 2nd placed Tom Sagar. Joe Wootton in 3rd was the best E2. Jay Thomas' steady progress took him to the top of the E1/4 class in 4th - 2 seconds ahead of Jack Edmondson. Luke Flack was the best Expert. Paul Edmondson was runner up and Max Ditchfield was 3rd. Lewis Ranger topped the Clubman leader board ahead of Stuart Mack and Harry Houghton. Nieve Holmes again scored maximum points ahead Rosie Rowett in a small Ladies class. In the Over 40 Andrew Reeves was 1st, Russell Millward 2nd and Andrew Edwards 3rd. Over 50 Paul Davies 1st, Gary McCoy 2nd and Jason Rees 3rd. Congratulations to the Dirtbike Evolution team on a very successful debut. Thanks to Jess Hockly and Gemma James for updates.  Results - Photos - Reports Alex Snow